Miraculous Debono not enough to Deny Spartans the Three Points

At the end of the match the Spartan fans were jubilant and could not stop chanting. It was also unsurprising that the Sirens goalkeeper Debono was awarded the Man of the Match award.

The Spartans made their intentions clear from the start when they immediately took control of proceedings and continuously attacked their opponents in search of the opener. Sirens on the other hand defended tenaciously and tried to hurt the Spartans with quick and effective counter attacks. On the 12th minute mark, Gojkovic went close with a header but his attempt when wide. Another attempt from N’Tow saw Jonathan Debono perform the first out of a series of impressive saves. El Bakhtaoui made the Hamrun faithful jump to their feet on two different occasions, only to realise that Debono performed another two spectacular saves. Nevertheless, Sirens were creating rare but dangerous chances through their fast play on the flanks. On one particular occasion they also managed to hit the post with our rear guard beaten.

In the second half, the script did not change with the Spartans in command of play trying to find the opener. Gambin’s long range effort was directed at the top left corner, but Debono’s heroics denied Hamrun the opener once again. Despite all of this, Mbong gave us the lead on the 64th minute mark when he intelligently stuck a low shot which Debono could only deviate into the net. After the opener, the game carried on as originally planned but the Sirens rear guard managed to keep the score at 1-0.

This was an extremely important win to boost morale in the Spartans camp, especially when considering that after the international break, our first match is against the league leaders Hibernians. Not only did the team acquire the three points, but one can unmistakably claim that this was surely the best performance of the season where players functioned as a team and everyone showed determination and fighting spirit. Well done Spartans!!!


  • Bonello
  • Oyama
  • Gojkovic
  • Dielna
  • Corbalan
  • Guillaumier
  • Marcelina
  • Gambin (77’ Sasere)
  • N’Tow
  • Mbong
  • El Bakhtaoui