Ħamrun Spartans finally receive Premier League trophy

After what was probably one of the longest delays in Maltese football history, Ħamrun Spartans – players, technical staff, committee members and its dedicated and passionate fan base were finally able to get their hands on the coveted Premier League trophy, won for the eight time in the Club’s history.

In a spectacular ceremony, a first of its kind, held at the Victor Tedesco Stadium, MFA President Bjorn Vassallo handed the trophy to club captain Manuel Bartolo, with his teammates joining in for a well-deserved celebration.

The Spartans had concluded the previous season five points clear of nearest-rivals Hibernians, having beaten the same Paola outfit in the very last match played by the team prior to the season being brought to an abrupt end. During the previous weeks, they has also beaten Gżira and Birkirkara, the other teams in top positions, confirming their dominance in the league. The Spartans lost just one of their games during last season.